Panfried celeriac with mushrooms

This is not a dish I can take any credit for at all, apparently it was a very popular veggie dish in the 80’s (at least in Sweden) but I found out about it a couple of days ago on this blog. I really wanted to try and make it because a) it sounded really nice, and b) because I had half a celeriac left in the fridge and no idea how to use it. So ok, b) was the strongest motivator! But this is a great way of using up left over celeriac and it tastes great together with the mushrooms. We were soon thinking of other ways to use it, maybe with some parmesan mixed in with the breadcrumbs or some chilli flakes? We will see how we do it next time. There is definitely a next time.

This is my version, with what I had at hand, but do have a look at the blog above and google translate it.

Panfried celeriac with mushrooms, serves two as a starter or side dish

1/2 celeriac

soy sauce

1 egg

plain flour

breadcrumbs

salt and pepper

a large handful mushrooms

some parlsey

1/2 clove of garlic, pressed 

Peel and cut the celeriac into 1 cm thick slices. Boil them in water and a little soy sauce for about 10 minutes, or until it is nearly cooked through. Drain. Coat the slices with first plain flour, then beaten egg and last breadcrumbs. Fry on medium heat in a frying pan with a lot of olive oil, first one side and then the next until golden (about 2 minutes on each side). Add salt and pepper. While you fry the celeriac, fry the mushrooms in some oil and butter over medium-high heat for about 5 minutes, add some salt and pepper, pressed garlic and parsley. Serve with tzatziki or another cold sauce.

This entry was posted in Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Panfried celeriac with mushrooms

  1. Jill says:

    We do a celery remoulade with celeriac – so good! I’d never thought of cooking it! 🙂

    • Hanna says:

      Remoulade sounds really good, didn’t know you could do that either! Definitely need to broaden my horizons when it comes to root vegetables…

  2. gitto says:

    Tjusigt värre! Och visst var det gott? Tack för länken!

  3. Greedy Rosie says:

    MMnh nom, I just love celeriac. I normally do something like a dauphinoise with it instead of potato, but I just tried a puree – http://www.greedyrosie.net/2010/09/12/celeriac-puree/ – and I will be definitely doing this.

    The only thing I don’t much fancy is remoulade, but I think if I did try it, I’d love that too!

Leave a comment