The best crumble

Before crumble used to be a quite nice dessert for me, one I didn’t have a relationship with. Something I didn’t crave very often and something that never really blew me away. But that changed.

I realised how nice a crumble can be when Gaby made it for me the first time. And the second time. I don’t know what her secret is, but her crumble is the best ever. Or at least it was until I encountered this recipe which is actually just as good as her’s.

It all happened one evening when Christopher and I were cooking with Jess and Chris. Jess wanted to make an apple crumble and without a recipe at hand we looked in Chris’s mum’s old Delia cookbook and used her recipe. Then we finished a whole crumble in like 5 minutes between the four of us. It was delish!

The flavour was awesome (sorry, have been watching too much Chuck) but the texture was a bit too sandy for my liking, so a few days later I was standing in my kitchen playing with the measures and this recipe was the result. It tastes just like the Delia-recipe but it contains a bit more butter.

Together with the raw custard, this is the perfect autumn dessert, and you can make it with whatever fruit or berries you have at hand.

Because of the brown sugar, the dessert feels autumnal and quite earthy, and would be perfect served after a casserole or game.

The best crumble, serves 4

8 plums or the equivalent in other fruits/berries 

100 g softened butter

200 g plain flour

135 g soft brown sygar

1 tsp baking powder

Grease a pie dish. Rinse the plums and take the stones out. Cut into wedges/slices and place in the pie dish. Measure all the ingredients into a bowl. Stir to combine with a wooden fork. Pour it over the fruit and bake for 30 minutes in 175C.  

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The best crumble

  1. I love crumble too because it’s so simple and quick to make! Plus I can control the amount of topping (my favourite part 😉 ).

Leave a Reply

