Chocolate cupcakes with chocolate frosting

It has almost become a tradition for me to bake something for the office on a Sunday. I love baking, and feel I have enough time on a Sunday to spend hours in the kitchen, and most people like a little Monday pick-me-up.

Two Sundays ago now I made chocolate cupcakes with chocolate frosting from The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook, their first cookbook.

I want to learn how to decorate cakes, but one step at the time, this time I piped the frosting and decorated it with glitter or rice-paper roses, all edible, but not sure the roses tasted much.

Chocolate cupcakes, makes 12-14

100 g plain flour

20 g cocao

140 g caster sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

a pinch of salt

40 g softened butter

120 ml whole milk

1 egg

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Beat butter, cocao, sugar, baking powder and flour in a bowl until sandy. Mix milk, egg and vanilla extract in a bowl/jug and add that to the sandy mixture while whisking. Beat until fully combined. Fill cupcake cases to 2/3 and bake in 175 C for 20-25 mins. Leave to cool on a wire rack.

Chokladfrosting, enough for 14 cupcakes

300 g icing sugar

100 g softened butter

40 g cocao

40 ml whole milk

Beat sugar, cocao and butter in a bowl. Add the milk bit by bit and beat until the frosting is glossy. Pipe onto the completely cool cupcakes. 

This entry was posted in Cakes/Cookies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chocolate cupcakes with chocolate frosting

  1. Ino says:

    I’ve also started taking cookies and other baked stuff to the office. Makes everyone’s day a little bit better. Nothing like bribing people with cake 😛

    These look nice and much prettier than mine – I don’t normally bother with piping, I just throw some frosting on the top, but maybe I should give it a go!

    • Hanna says:

      Exactly – I think everybody likes me because of the goodies. 🙂

      Now that I am friends with the piping bags and nozzles, I almost find it easier to pipe than to smear it on.

  2. I should really bake more from the Hummingbird cookbook-the cupcakes look divine! And those roses are very pretty too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

