Marylebone High Street and a new little purchase

Yesterday lunch time I took the tube to Baker Street and walked to Marylebone High St where one of the Skandium shops are, to buy a housewarming gift for a friend, and then occured to me that the street should have its own little post on the blog, because it is so very very nice. People ask me a lot for London tips, both on what to see and do, as where to eat, and it is nice to feature this on the blog as well.

Marylebone High Street is one of my favourite streets in London (and the one I dislike the most is Oxford St) because it is so charming. You find good shops here, as well as nice restaurants and coffee shops and it feels more like the high street in the most charming town on earth than a street in central London. You find interior design shops like the Conran Shop, Skandium, White Company, Designers Guild, Divertimenti, Emma Bridgewater and Brissi, clothes shops Theory, Aubin & Wills, Paul Smith, Matches and Comptoir des Cotonniers  good restaurants like the The Providores  and other places to eat like the chains Paul and Le Pain Quotidien and Orrery that has a delicatessen as well.

And I have to mention Daunt Books, the cosiest book shop ever! They sell mainly travel literature but they have other books as well. The shop is full to the rim with books and helpful staff and it almost feels like an old-fashioned library, because to reach some sections you have to climb narrow stairs, almost like ladders. Sometimes they have events in the shop and can then drink wine in this beautiful setting.

If you haven’t been to London before I understand that sightseeing is more important than visiting this street in Marylebone, but if you want to find a nice oasis in the big city, this is one I highly recommend. There are lots of other nice places in London, and I promise to feature them all on here.

When I was shopping at Skandium I realised how I can miss the clean Scandi designs sometimes. Both Christopher and I like the old English style and nice old things, and I have quite a lot of Swedish and Scandinavian things as well, but to see it all in pne place and feel the bond with my part of Europe felt both fun and strange at the same time. I saw a few things that ended up on my wishlist straight away (or they might have been on there a long time, but I had forgotten about them) like the large Teema cups with saucers in dark blue, more Aino Aalto glasses, but the clear ones (I already have blue) and more jars like the one above. I haven’t seen these before today, and I really like them. Now I just have to figure out what to put in it, any ideas? 🙂

This entry was posted in LONDON-guide. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marylebone High Street and a new little purchase

  1. I love Scandinavian design too-it’s so distinct yet accessible! Hubby would outfit our whole place in Scandi stuff if he could! 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Natural Kitchen, Marylebone | The Food Archive

Leave a Reply

