Three courses

On Saturday when I took over Christopher’s mother Eileen’s kitchen for the evening, I was a little bit nervous. Partly because I don’t know where everything is in her kitchen and partly because it was the first time I cooked for her.

We usually come to her instead of her coming to visit us in London, and that is because of several reasons: she has a lot more living space than us; we have friends in the area; it is nice to visit the countryside; Christopher’s brother lives near by etc. But it feels wrong that we invite ourselves over and Eileen has to cook for us every time, so it was definitely over due for us (me) to cook for her. Christopher was nice and helped by guiding me around the kitchen, setting the table, putting cooking music on and filling and re-filling my wine glass as well as doing the dishes, so he actually did a lot more than I did.  

The recipes I used were ones I basically know off by heart and have cooked several times (you don’t want to fail in someone elses kitchen).

The starter was this simple but absolutely delicious recipe. Unfortunately the supermarket near by had no figs so we just hade some rocket with it, and that worked too. The most important thing is the parma ham, the filling and the balsamic claze, don’t forget the glaze!You can serve rocket with it like we did, a more substantial salad, figs, olives, marinated artichoke hearts or whatever you like. But please promise me to try this!

For the mains I made Nigella’s lovely lamb racks with a parmesan crust, roasted new potatoes and a red wine sauce.

Roasted new potatoes, serves 3

ca 500 g baby new potatoes

olive oil

rosmary

salt and pepper

Place the potatoes in a roasting pan, drizzle some oil over them and season with rosemary, salt and pepper. Place in 200C for about 30 minutes.

The dessert was another Nigella creation, the ever so lovely glitzy chocolate puddings, that you all have to try. My dear dad that doesn’t even like chocolate cakes or desserts loved this one…

This entry was posted in Dessert, Meat, Potatoes, Starters. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three courses

  1. Hanna says:

    Parma ham, figs and balsamic is classic and I’ve never met anyone who doesn’t like it… nice! I normally add a ball of burrata too and it’s heaven!

Leave a Reply

