Scallops in saffron sauce

Scallops are one of my favourite things from the sea. I love both the taste and the soft texture. And every time I eat them I feel like I’m treating myself to something a bit luxurious…

The inspiration for the sauce I found in one of my mum’s old cookbooks when I visiting home last. As usual I didn’t follow the recipe much, but went my own way, but I would never have come up with pairing scallops with a saffron sauce if I hasn’t seen the recipe, so all credit to this book, but I have no idea which book it was… The dish turned out really well, and I think serving the scallops with a yummy sauce is so much nicer than serving it with a little herb salad or something. This just feels fresh, a bit extra and it really works!

The most important thing is the produce though. Rather buy a few nice scallops instead of buying the small tasteless ones, and make sure you avoid the frozen ones, they taste nothing but water. Two large scallops per person is enough as a starter and is not very expensive. I’d rather go for quality than quantity any day… 🙂

We got these placemats in the Harrod's sale. Love them!

Scallops in saffron sauce, serves 2

4 large scallops

100 ml dry white wine

100 ml fish stock

100 ml cream

1 large pinch of saffron threads

1/2 pressed garlic clove

1 chopped shallot

Cut the hard muscle off each scallop. Pour wine, stock, cream and saffron into a sauce pan. Bring to the boil and let it simmer and thicken for a few minutes. Season to taste with saffron, garlic, salt and white pepper. Fry the scallops on medium heat in butter (and maub a little bit of olive oil). Season with salt and pepper. Put two scallops each in two bowls. Pour the sauce around the scallops. Sprinkle with chopped shallots.

This entry was posted in Fish & seafood, Starters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

