Smörgåstårta (sandwich cake)

I guess for non-Swedish people, this dish seems a bit bizarre. It is a cake made with bread and savoury fillings, and in my opinion really yummy.

It is quite old school but seems to have a revival at the moment. But this is something my grandparents when they were old, would buy from the bakery and serve at a daytime birthday party so they wouldn’t have to cook themselves. Followed by a creamy cake you certainly feel full afterwards, but it is nice at the same time. It is also popular for graduations and funerals or other gatherings.

I like mine moist but not too gooey, and with only small bits in the filling. Some put peas or corn to fill it out but I don’t like that.

This cake is a meat version containing ham and brussels paté, but a fish-seafood version is equally popular with prawns, tinned tuna and smoked salmon.

Since this was my first Smörgåstårta ever that I made myself, it is of course not perfect. If I made it again, I would place filling 1 on top and filling 3 at the bottom, and try to decorate it nicer. But for a first attempt I am more than pleased, and most important of all – it was really tasty!



Smörgåstårta (sandwich cake), serves 4

12 slices white bread, edges removed (4 slices in 3 layers)

Filling #1:

100 ml creme fraiche

50 ml mayonnaise

5 cm thinly sliced cucumber

2 sliced baby leeks

3 slices chopped smoked ham

Filling #2:

200 g mascarpone

4-5 sunblush tomatoes, finely chopped

finely chopped basil

1/2 chopped red onion

Filling #3:

150 g cream cheese

lbrussels paté after taste

5 finely chopped cornichons

Filling #4 (around the cake): same as filling #1 but without the ham

Decorations on top:

2 slices nice smoked ham

tomato wedges

cucumber slices

small pickled onions

cornichons

This entry was posted in Bread, Canapés/nibbles, Meat, Swedish food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Smörgåstårta (sandwich cake)

  1. I’m an American and have never seen this before but think it looks very fun and a nice party dish.
    I find Swedish dishes so intriguing!! I house sat for a little Swedish woman here in the states and she was marvelously kind and fascinating. 🙂 I really enjoy your blog. thank you for sharing !

    • Hanna says:

      It is rather unusual for non-Scandis, but I promise, it tastes great! I’m glad you have had nice encounters with Swedish people, it is always nice to hear.

      And thank you very much! I have actually moved this blog to http://scandelights.com to make it even more Scandinavian. I hope you pop by and like the changes!

      Hanna

Leave a Reply

