Thick bacon pancake

This is cheap and filling peasant food. I used to eat this all the time as a student in Lund together with my flatmates Malin and Tobbe. It is easy to make and belongs to the same family as toad in the hole. 

In Sweden most people have lingonberry jam with this, but I don’t particular like that, sp I go for strawberry instead. Not healthy at all, but lovely! 🙂

Thick bacon pancake (Fläskpannkaka), serves 4

1 packet smoked streaky bacon, in pieces

2 eggs

400 ml plain flour

800 ml milk

Fry the bacon cirspy and distribute on a greased large baking dish with walls. Mix eggs, flour and half the milk in a mixing bowl. Add the remaining milk and stir to remove lumps. Add a pinch of salt and some white pepper. Pour it into the baking dish.  Bake in 200C until golden brown, about 40 mins. Serve with lingonberry jam or strawberry jam.

This entry was posted in Quiches, pizzas & similar, Swedish food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thick bacon pancake

  1. Kristina says:

    Hmm that looks yummy! I forget all my healthy meals when I read your blog 🙂 I will treat Charlie to that! 🙂

  2. That sounds delicious and I like the idea of pairing it with a jam! 😀

Leave a Reply

