Crumbly vanilla cookies with cornflakes and chocolate

I seem to spend every Sunday in the kitchen lately, and I absolutely love it, although I nearly overdid it this Sunday with the slow-cooking casserole, eggs benedict for breakfast and baking in between. It was quite late when I got to sit down and I realised how tired I was. And happy! Cooking and baking really makes me happy. On Sunday I tried a few new things, and fairly complicated recipes, but sometimes making a simple weekday dinner can make me just as happy. Or baking an old favourite recipe that I know by heart…

This cookie is related to the crumbly vanilla cookie I mentioned not too long ago, and it is really yummy. I can’t really say which one I like the most, but this combination is more unusual and the crunch from the cornflakes is great. Try them both and see which one you prefer! I promise, they’re both really good!

Crumbly vanilla cookies with cornflakes and chocolate, about 25

100 g softened butter

200 ml granulated sugar

100 ml rapeseed oil/cooking oil (one without strong flavours)

1 tbsp vanilla sugar

1 tsp cooking ammonium

400 ml plain flour

2 tbsp potato flour (can be excluded, just add a tad more wheat flour)

200 ml cornflakes

50 g dark chocolate, chopped

Beat the butter and sugar fluffy, beat in the oil. Mix in the other ingredients and spoon the mixture onto a baking sheet. It is quite stodgy and crumbly already here, so I help the mixture to stick together by pressing it into a ball with my hand as well. Bake for 13-15 minutes in the middle section of the oven in 175C.

Leave to cool on a wire rack, and if you want to make them look pretty, melt some chocolate and pour over them with a spoon to create lines. Leave to dry on the wire rack.

 

This entry was posted in Cakes/Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

