Parsnip and sweet potato soup

I don’t know if you have noticed or not, but the last two months or so I have cut out a lot of fiber. This was my doctor’s orders and to prevent my stomach cramps.

In the beginning I saw it as an excuse to eat everything unhealthy, as I had to cut out fruit, berries, seeds, nuts, vegetables and everything whole grain. But it wasn’t as fun to cut out vegetables as I had imagined. I really suffered, not being able to eat avocado, asparagus, berries… Cutting it out makes the food you eat seem really dense, and sometimes I was really struggling with motivation on what to cook. But it did help my stomach enormously!

I have also learnt that maybe society exaggerate the importance of fiber, my stomach has worked better than before without it, and I haven’t gained weight from eating white bread and pasta. I think variation in your diet as well as normal-sized portions is the key rather than eating a lot of fibers.

Since a week and a half I have started to introduce certain vegetables, berries and fruit into my diet, so we’ll see how that works out. I am thrilled to be able to eat vegetables again, and enjoy the fact that my food seems much lighter now.

In spring and summer I prefer salads, but in the autumn and winter I love my soups and am so happy I can have it for lunch everyday if I want to! This is what I had today, at my desk, as you can see. 😉

Parsnip and sweet potato soup, serves 1

1 parsnip

1 sweet potato

olive oil

vegetable stock

cream/creme fraiche

persillade

chilli flakes (only a few)

salt

Peel the vegetables and cut into pieces. Heat up some olive oil in a pan and add the vegetables, cook for only a few minutes to add flavour. Pour boiling water into the pan, and add a little stock, cook for about 15 minutes until the vegetables are very tender. Drain the cooking water into a bowl and puree the vegetables, gradually adding the cooking water and cream until you get the thickness you want. Bring to a boil again and adjust the salt with stock and salt, add the seasoning and serve with a dollop of creme fraiche.

This entry was posted in Quick suppers, Soup. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

