Madeleines take 1

Before I moved to England I had never encountered madeleines, despite being on holiday in France, but since I moved here I enjoy them quite often. Of course I would like to make my own instead of buying them, that is much more satisfactory, so I have begun the quest of the perfect madeleines.

This first recipe I tried, is from a Swedish TV chef called Leila, and it is pretty good. The cakes are very tasty and moist but taste eggier than I think madeleines should, and less buttery. It could also do with a stronger vanilla flavour and I used less lemon zest than the recipe and I think that worked well.

So, pretty good but not perfect. The quest continues…

Madeleines, 12

75 g softened butter
75 ml granulated sugar
1 tsp vanilla sugar
1 lemon, the zest
2 eggs
150 ml plain flour
1 tsp baking powder

Whip butter, sugars and lemon zest with an electric whisk until creamy. Pour in the eggs and stir.  Mix flour and baking powder and fold it into the batter. Grease the madeleine moulds and divide the batter. Bake in 175 degree oven for 10 minutes in the middle of the oven.

This entry was posted in Cakes/Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Madeleines take 1

  1. Pingback: Madeleines take 2 | The Food Archive

Leave a Reply

