Gordon Ramsay at Claridge’s

Before Christopher and I left for holiday in Sweden we had a great lunch at Gordon Ramsay at Claridge’s. A great start to the holiday! 🙂

It was the first time at Claridge’s and it is just lovely in there. Very old fashioned but in a nice way. In the ladies’ room there were three proper makeup tables by the door, I so want one at home. 🙂

But back to the food. We received a amuse bouche at first; a cold pea soup with pecorino and chopped shallots. I don’t really like cold soups, but this was the exception the the rule. It was divine! Silky smooth and perfect combination of flavours. As a starter we both chose the thai tiger prawn ravioli with velouté, and it was absolutely amazing. Every mouthful was so lovely in it flavours I had to make myself eat slowly so it would last longer. For maincourse, we chose differently. Christopher had the wild boar with smoked potato mash which looked amazing. When I saw his plate I was slightly disappointed with my choice of trout with radish cubes, broad beans, girolles and velouté, but my dish was so good I soon forgot all about Christopher’s wild boar. The fish was cooked to perfection, but tasted quite similar to trout I cook at home, but the trimmings were fantastic. We absolutely loved the first two courses!

Next came the dessert and both of us chose the raspberry clafoutis with raspberry ripple icecream. It was tasty and nice, but didn’t really play in the same league as the two first courses. The truffles we received after the meal were excellent though!

All in all we had a fantastic eating experience! The ambiance was more laid back than we’d expected, the staff very professional but friendly and chatty and made the meal a so much nicer experience.

I want to go again!! And visit all Gordon’s other restaurants… 😉

This entry was posted in LONDON-guide, RESTAURANT FILE. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gordon Ramsay at Claridge’s

  1. Pingback: Maze on a Monday or when I met Gordon Ramsay | The Food Archive

Leave a Reply

