Lemon curd squares

For our Midsummer lunch, I made a strawberry gateau with lemon curd cream, which was really nice when we left the house. An hour and a half later when we got to our friend’s house it was rather melted (because of a heat wave and being in the underground), and therefore didn’t look its best, so I will give you the recipe and pictures next time I make it.

I ended up with some left over lemon curd after making the cake though, and as I try to avoid throwing food away, I wanted to use it up. The result was these chewy squares with lemon curd and crispy oats on top.

I brought some with me to work, and they disappeared fast, and I kept a few for dessert the next day and served them up in the simplest way possible; with a dollop of lightly whipped cream. Delicious!

Lemon curd, about 500 ml

100 g butter

2 eggs

200 ml caster sugar

1 1/2 lemon

Grate the peel and squeeze the juice from the lemons. Place in a saucepan with butter and half of the sugar. Bring to the boil and wait for the sugar to dissolve. Leave to cool.

Beat eggs and the rest of the sugar fluffy and pour it into the saucepan. Let it thicken on low heat while stirring, it must not boil. Leave to cool and keep in the fridge for about a week.

Lemon curd squares, makes 20

450 ml plain flour

150 ml caster sugar

150 g softened butter

1 tbsp baking powder

1 egg

200 ml lemon curd

Topping:

150 ml oats

100 ml caster sugar

1 tsp vanilla sugar

50 g softened butter

Beat sugar and butter creamy. Add egg, flour and baking powder. Spread out in a 20×30 cm baking tray. Spread the lemon curd on top. Mix butter, sugar and oats and sprinkle on top. Bake in 200C for about 15 mins. 

This entry was posted in Cakes/Cookies, Dessert and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lemon curd squares

  1. A nice use of leftover lemon curd! I always make my own so I always want to use it asap because there aren’t any preservatives. I’ll keep this in mind! :D

Leave a Reply

