Happy New Year!

I know that everone aren’t as excited about New Year’s Eve as I am, but please bare with me. I love parties, good food, bubbly and to dress up and this is why I love this tradition. I think it is nice to welcome the new year in your nicest frock and with a glass of bubb;y in hand surrounded by your friends.

Since I moved to London two and a half years ago, I have spent every NYE in the UK. I have celebrated every Christmas at home in Sweden with family and friends and has therefore been really nice to celebrate NYE here with my new found friends.

Me dressed as a nurse in Cornwall 2008.

Random people in fancy dress costumes.

In 2008 I went to St Ives in Cornwall with my friends Nick and Charlie and celebrated the new year St Ives style – in fancy dress! It was good fun. The whole down was in fancy dress and walked around the pubs and bars. It was fun to try it, but for me New Year’s is about dressing up in nice clothes, not in fancy dress.

Emma and I last year.

In 2009 my best friend Emma and her boyfriend Claes came to celebrate the new year with us. We had a three course dinner with lobster, roast beef and chocolate fondant before we went to some friend’s party.

In 2010 we’re doing about the same, but having David and Gaby over for dinner instead. Tonight’s menu is grilled lobster with garlic butter and parsley with homemade aioli, followed by port and thyme baked wild duck breast with hasselback potatoes, endive gratin and carrots, with a vanilla creme brulée as dessert.

Claes with the champagne flowing a couple of years ago.

Cheers and happy new year! I wish you all the best for the new year ahead!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year!

  1. Happy New Year to you too Hanna :)

Leave a Reply

