Baking bonanza and rocky road

I took a day off work on Tuesday to have a whole day to myself baking Christmas goodies. I suspect I am a bit obsessed with baking because I forgot to eat and to sit down and relax, I had so much fun in the kitchen. I got a lot done though, and everything was really nice and tasty! Still have a few things in the fridge to finish off, but still pleased with how much I managed to do. I had to run the dishwasher (though small) 4 times, that’s how much washing up I created, haha. So happy to have a dishwasher!

I will definitely post a few Christmassy recipes here the next couple of days. The first one is Rocky Road. I know that there are loads of different versions, but pleeease try this one. It is amazing, I promise you will fall in love with it. This version isn’t completely my own, the creator is a Swedish tv-chef called Leila, and I found the recipe on a blog called Matplatsen, where Victoria had made a few changes to it. And me being me I of course had to make a few changes myself… ;-) Just can’t help myself.  

Dumle toffees (it is a Finnish brand but you find them all over Scandinavia)

Of course you need to try one to make sure they're ok. Phew - they were!

Place them in a bowl

 

Add marshmallows

and nuts...

melt chocolate

Mix it all together and leave spread out on parchment paper to set in the fridge. Cut into squares and serve!

People, try this! It is sooo nice that my best friend Emma and my mother have asked me already to make it when I get home for Christmas. And of course I will. :)

Rocky road

2 bags of Dumle toffee (I think Rolos would work too, or any other chewy toffee)

2 handfuls of marshmallows

250 g salted cashews

100 g salted pastachios

400 g milk chocolate

100 g dark chocolate

Put the toffees in a bowl, cut the marshmallows in half with scissors (or use mini ones) and add them and the nuts. Melt all the chocolate together over boiling water. Add it to the nutmixture and make sure everything is coated with chocolate. Spread it out onto parchment paper in a square/rectangular dish. Keep in the fridge to set. Cut it into squares and serve. Enjoy, I know you will! :)

This entry was posted in Christmas, Sweets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

