Tasty Kitchen’s mushroom soup with garlic cheese bread

Via Pioneer Woman (a blog I really like with insight to American cooking) I found this recipe posted on Tasty Kitchen. I really enjoyed this creamy mushroom soup, whereas Christopher’s comment was that it tasted really nice, but he didn’t think tomato, cream and mushrooms was a good combo, not what one expects. I must say I only expected one thing – for it to taste good, and it really did! :) I had the leftovers for lunch the next day and it was really tasty then too.

I served Pioneer Woman’s cheesy garlic bread with it, (with a few changes of course) and we both really liked it!

When it comes to cooking I rarely follow recipes properly, I guess I see them more as inspiration. Even if I have the intention to actually follow it, I always end up adding or substituting something. With this soup I had been a bit silly and printed the measurements in US style and not metric, and couldn’t really be bothered to convert it, so I used all the ingredients (apart from the wine, didn’t have any at hand) and only added some chilli sauce for a punch and sweetness. If you want the original recipe, click on the link above, and below is my modified version. Tasty that one, too!

Creamy mushroom soup, serves 3-4

1 celery stalk, finely chopped

1-2 small carrots, finely chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

250 g closed cup mushrooms, sliced

1 clove of garlic, pressed

200 ml passata

500 ml chicken stock (1,5 stock cube + boiling water)

300 ml cream

some finely grated parmesan (approx 2-3 tbsp)

thickening agent (I used Swedish Maizena, made of corn starch)

2 tbsp chilli sauce

salt and white pepper

Heat up the olive oil in a large sauce pan, when hot throw in the celery and carrots and let them soften a bit. Then add the garlic and next the mushrooms. Let the mushrooms reduce in size for a few minutes, and then add the passata and chicken stock. Bring to a boil and let it boil for five minutes or so, then add the cream. Bring to a boil again, adjust the seasoning and add the chilli sauce, and let it simmer for a few minutes. Then add the thickening agent and let it boil on low heat until the soup has the thickness you desire. Maybe add some chopped parsley and serve.

Cheesy garlic bread

Cut crusty baguette lengthways. Melt a knob of butter and add some pressed garlic ot a frying pan and fry the bread (soft side own) until it is golden. Make sure the garlic doesn’t burn. Then mix mayonnaise and grated cheese (cheddar and parmesan) in a bowl. Add some salt. Spoon the mixture onto the crusty bread and put them high up in the oven on 225C until the cheese mixture is nice and golden too. Dig in!

This entry was posted in Bread, Soup. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tasty Kitchen’s mushroom soup with garlic cheese bread

  1. Hi Hanna
    Came across you blog & would love to connect, I’m really interested to know more about Sweedish cuisine & of course loved my time in London, so with food in common…, lots to connect with.
    Cheers Anna

Leave a Reply

