Pasta with girolles

On my lunch break on Friday, I made a quick visit to the wonderful Borough Marke. I found some girolles, cepes and Jerusalem artichokes that got to come home with me. I didn’t really have a plan of what to use the mushrooms for when I bought them, I just can’t resist the golden girolles. If I had known I was to use them in a nice creamy sauce with a splash of cognac, with pasta, I would have bought lots more, so the pasta – girolle ratio isn’t what it should be, but it still tasted lvoely.

Pasta with girolles, serves 2

pasta of your choice (about 250 g dried pasta)

girolles

olive oil

a knob of butter

400 ml cream

1-2 cloves of garlic, pressed

1 splash of cognac

1 tsp chilli sauce

2 tsp persillade

grated parmesan (Parmiggiano reggiano is to prefer)

chopped parsley

Cook the pasta. Heat up oil and butter in a sauté pan until it is really hot. Fry the mushrooms for a while, sprinkle on some salt and pepper. Turn the heat down and add the cream, add the other ingredients apart from the parsley, and adjust the seasoning to taste. Drain the pasta and add it into the sauce. Serve with some more grated parmesan, some nice bread and a glass of wine.  

This entry was posted in Pasta, Quick suppers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pasta with girolles

  1. T. says:

    Now see this is exactly what I mean…now yes there are a lot of cities within the US that might carry both girolles and chanterelle mushrooms; but not in Bryan, OH. We would be LUCKY if we could even find oyster mushrooms here… So once my husband and I move to Britain; I know having access to good ingredients will be one of the things I appreciate most of all…This recipe sounds absolutely yummy…

    • Hanna says:

      They are a bit tricky to find here as well, in Sweden they sell girolles in every supermarket, but Borough Market have them, and probably Whole Foods as well. When are you moving here?

Leave a Reply

