Semolina pudding

After the autumnal casserole on Sunday I made an old-fashioned semolina pudding for dessert. I vaguely remember mother (or maybe grandmother?) making one with raisins when I was a child. I am no fan of warm raisins so I made mine without and served it with strawberry jam. It was the first time I made it myself, and I liked, it is a very comforting dessert, but Christopher didn’t like it much. He had pictured it as sweeter and more like the semolina porridge his mother just to make for him as a child. It starts off with the porridge, but it sets in the oven.

 

Semolina pudding, serves 2-3

450 ml milk

75 ml semolina

a pinch of salt

1/2 tbsp butter

some lemon peel

75 ml granulated or caster sugar

1 egg

50 ml double cream

Start off by making semolina porridge. Bring the milk to a boil, then add the semolina and salt. Add raisins if you prefer. Cook the porridge slowly while stirring for 3 minutes. Add the butter and lemon peel. Put aside and leave to cool.

Add sugar (I used double the amount), egg and cream (which I whipped lightly before adding, but I don’t think that’s necessary). Pour the mixture into a buttered ovenproof dish and bake in the middle of the oven for 30 minutes in 200C. Serve with strawberry conserve and maybe some whipped cream.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Swedish food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

